Netflix made me do it!

What is the craziest thing you would do for some Netflix? Would you engage in an all-out brawl with your girlfriend prompting smashed windows, or a television thrown from your balcony into the backyard pool? What about dumping a cinder block on a Mercedes Benz?

Well, that is what happened when former NBA player Gilbert Arenas could not remember the password to his Netflix account. I do not condone violence, but, boy oh boy, I get it!

Can you imagine life without Netflix? I can’t!

The Internet streaming media company changed the way we looked at television. In 1997, Netflix started out as a DVD-by-mail service, where a subscriber could have movies delivered, for a flat monthly rate. It was Blockbuster on wheels!

The company’s movie collection grew, as did the number of subscribers. Then, a few years ago, Netflix made the move to provide original television content, which set them apart from all others.

These original shows were produced and presented in a similar fashion, to that of cable shows – typically 10 to 13 episodes a season, entertaining, and bloody good. Several of the shows, like House of Cards and Orange is the New Black, have even been nominated and won the finest acting awards.

The Netflix-way certainly pioneered this movement and other subscription-based media companies have followed suit – Amazon, Hulu, and the list goes on.

I imagine that with all that Netflix has to offer, basic television networks are grinding their teeth as they sit in boardrooms, coming up with ways to-take-them-down. I understand NBC’s pain! I spent an entire week watching movies and shows on Netflix, never once tuning in to basic TV. I was so out of touch with life – caught up in a Netflix trance.

Now although, I loveeeeeeeeeeeeee it, Netflix is not perfect and there are some nuisances to deal with.

You must be connected to the Internet in order to stream, so God forbid, the wifi is down or the signal strength is weak! I sometimes have to deal with this issue and my head spins like little Regan MacNeil in the Exorcist.

So I sympathize with Gilbert Arenas.

And that is not the only annoying thing that happens on Netflix.

When you are watching one of their fabulous original shows, about 4 episodes in, a message pops up asking if you want to continue watching. “Yessssssssssss! Yes, I want to continue watching! That-is-why-I-am-watching-it. Oh my God!!!” When this happens, I am at risk of smashing a few windows myself! Just kidding!

Look, everyone has their drug of choice. Netflix is mine. And I always need my fix!!!

-Reporter

Featured Image Source: 24.wikia.com

Leave a Reply

